Meet Jesus

Luke 2:7 (NIV) and she gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger, because there was no guest room available for them.

Photo by Burkay Canatar on Pexels.com

Mary delivers her first child in a damp dark cave or stable. She wraps Him in strips of cloth, perhaps ripped from the hem of her robes, and places Him to sleep in a manger. A manger is a trough used to feed animals and is full of straw, dirt, rocks and probably a few bugs. Not the most ideal place for a newborn to sleep…especially The King of Kings.

Asking Jesus into my heart is like Mary placing baby Jesus in a manger. My heart has the dirt (hurts), the rocks (bitterness) and the bugs (traumas) of life. But, Jesus is still comfortable there. He heals the hurts, gives me forgiveness to give others and restores life after trauma. He meets me where I am, not where I should be.

This Advent season may we remember Jesus as The One who seeks us no matter where we are on life’s journey. He is looking for a relationship with each of us. He is standing at the door of our hearts waiting for an invitation to come inside. Will you open the door? lg

John 3:17 (NIV) For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.

Revelation 3:20 (NIV) Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.

Leave a comment